Reflections on 2011 and Wishes for 2012

Today is the last day of the toughest year of my life. My accident in May interrupted my “normal” life and thrust me into survival and healing. Really not that bad in the scheme of things, and it could have been so much worse. Yet for me I was confronted with many personal issues as I progress through the healing process.

Carol and Mozart in 2011

Starting on May 12th  I was totally helpless, it was the first time in my adult life I was totally dependent on other people to care for me. My whole adult life I have defined myself as self-reliant, heroic during crisis, completely capable. Since May 12, I could be none of these things.

My family and close friends were amazing – taking care of me (which wasn’t always easy, trust me). As my 2011 comes to an end I want each of you to know how much you mean to me. Your support and love helped me heal and get to a much better place. The remainder of my healing will be easy – since I am already so far along. Experiencing dependency increased my empathy for others. This is a big life lesson – one that was long overdue.

2012 anticipation is high – and my heart is optimistic in so many ways. Despite economic struggles, daunting global environmental and security issues, great uncertainty, we are truly living in a very special time. It is a time of greater consciousness and collaboration. My son Louis and I saw this first hand during our recent trip to Indonesia where there was collaboration on a global scale to save a hyper-diverse ocean area from destruction. In fact it is now a national park with global and local commitment to conservation. This is thanks to the work of Conservation International, large donations from generous donors, local Indonesian government support, and of course the local Indonesian people.

Cenderawasih Bay National Park - Whale Shark under Bagan

Closer to home, we can see greater consciousness and collaboration with how my daughter and her staff are building a new business, Wild Mountain Foods www.wildmountainfoods.com . It is a socially and environmentally conscious company from the core.  – a for-profit business totally committed to health and sustainability. She is a new generation of business people who put their passion and values center stage.  Her passion is healthy eating, her values are sustainability and community engagement.

Wild Mountain Foods

So as we enter 2012 I wish for all of you a great new year. I wish you a year where you live your passions, stay true to your values, and participate in your communities. My wish is inspired by the work of Conservation International and Wild Mountain Foods.

Best Wishes for 2012 for all of you. Thank you so much for your support in 2011.

About Carol Realini

Serial Entrepreneur, Mobile Payments and Banking Pioneer, Author, Board Member Carol Realini is a successful Silicon Valley executive and expert in financial service innovation. She has worked with leading financial institutions including MasterCard and Citi, as well as numerous multinational and regional banks, to change the way banking is conducted. In 2011, as a Technology Pioneer attending the World Economic Forum, she led discussions on alternative banking at their meeting in Davos. A serial entrepreneur, she has been recognized as one of the 50 Top Women in Technology by Corporate Board Member magazine. Carol is a huge believer in the potential of mobile banking and payments to create financial inclusion - where everyone with a mobile phone has access to affordable financial services that empower their life and work. To understand Carol's vision please watch the WEF video (click on the weforum.org link below). Carol also mentors entrepreneurs providing wisdom and lessons learned from her four successful startup experiences.
This entry was posted in Conservation, Entrepreneurship, Women and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflections on 2011 and Wishes for 2012

  1. Alba Garcia says:

    I’m wishing you and Joe and family a Happy New Year. You’re a trooper and have been able to not let life get you down. God bless you. You’re an inspiration. I think of you everytime I gaze at my portrait…..(inside joke).

Leave a Reply

